I don't know if this qualifies as a bug persay, it's a bit of a grey area. But i'm posting because i lost about 6 hours of work (yes i know...) on a ship design because of this. I'm pretty sure it's been well covered since beta, but here goes.
If you create a ship template and save it, and then exit the game without saving the game, your template is completely lost for that game. While the template is saved, and presumably available for the next game, you can never again gain access to it in the current game you are playing. Stupid me thought, for sure since the template is saved and i see it there in the list, it's saved and i'll be ok to exit. Noooooope. Shouldn't the game scan the templates directory on a reload? Or shouldn't there at least be an import button like GC2? Something? Even a warning to save the game before exiting... Something.